Missouri Car Insurance Guide
Discover auto insurance requirements, the best companies, and how to get the lowest rates in Missouri.
Missouri is the 18th-largest state in the country by population. It’s home to major cities such as Kansas City, St. Louis, and Springfield. The state is famous for its amazing barbecue, agriculture, and, of course, the Missouri River.
According to the Federal Highway Administration, there are about 4.25 million drivers in Missouri. The state requires all drivers to have auto insurance if they want to get behind the wheel. This page will help you learn how car insurance works in The Show Me State, including rates, laws, best companies, and more.
Table of contents
Missouri Average Auto Insurance Rates
Where you live is a big factor in how much you pay for car insurance. It’s always a good idea to look at your state’s average auto rates if you’re shopping around. This will help you know if you’re paying too much or getting a discount on your premium. The table below shows the average cost of car insurance in Missouri. You can also see how Missouri’s rates stack up against the rest of the nation.
|Coverage||Missouri Average||US Average|
|Price Per Month||$77.49||$89.20|
Average Full Coverage Rates
In the graph below, you can see the change in Missouri’s average auto insurance rates from 2012 to 2019. In 2012, average rates for full coverage were at $638, but by 2019, they were at $929. This was an increase of $291, or 45%, during this time. Despite this increase, Missouri’s auto rates are far cheaper than the national average.
Average Liability Coverage Rates
This next graph shows Missouri’s liability auto insurance rates from 2012 to 2019. The state’s liability coverage rates are much cheaper than the rest of the US. However, rates still saw an increase through the seven years. Rates went from nearly $400 in 2012 to over $500 in 2019.
The rate increase may be due to the number of crashes per year in Missouri. In 2019, there were 157,038 crashes in the state. This is up from 142,966 crashes in 2012.
Average Collision Coverage Rates
The graph below displays Missouri’s average collision coverage rates from 2012 to 2019. Despite staying under the US average, rates increased from 2012 to 2019. Rates went from around $250 in 2012 to over $300 in 2019.
Average Comprehensive Coverage Rates
Unlike in the other graphs above, Missouri’s comprehensive coverage rates are much higher than the US average. Comprehensive rates also increased from 2012 to 2019, going from over $150 to about $225 during this time.
Missouri’s high comprehensive rates are most likely because it’s at risk for natural disasters. Tornadoes, floods, winter weather, and earthquakes are all possibilities in the Show Me State. These can result in more comprehensive claims, raising rates for everyone in the area.
Why Do Car Insurance Rates Keep Increasing in Missouri?
Although Missouri’s rates are below the national average, they’ve been steadily increasing each year. Why is this the case? There are a few reasons behind it. Inflation can contribute to the increase in car insurance rates. As the cost of auto repairs and medical bills go up, claims become more expensive. This results in higher rates. More accidents and claims in the area may also contribute to higher rates. This is especially if you live in an urban area.
With premiums rising each year, it’s important to get the best deal. It’s a smart idea to compare quotes from multiple companies to find the cheapest rates. Discounts are also a great way to lower your premium.
How to Get a Car Insurance Quote
If you’re shopping for a new auto insurance policy, you’ll need to get a quote from an insurer. A quote is an estimate of your monthly rate. To get a quote, you have a few options. The first is by getting it from an insurer. You can also get a quote here at RateSonic.
When you get a quote, you’ll need to provide some info. This helps you get a fair and accurate rate. Here’s what you may need to give to an insurer when getting a car insurance quote:
- First and last name
- Phone number
- Email address
- Education and occupation
- Desired coverages and limits
- Names of other drivers on your policy
Be aware that when you get a quote online, it may not be fully accurate. You’ll likely need to speak with a provider’s representative or agent to get a final rate.
Find the Best Car Insurance in Missouri
Compare quotes among leading car insurance companies to get better coverage and lower rates.
Missouri Auto Insurance Requirements
Every state requires insurance or proof of financial responsibility to drive. However, states don’t always have the same requirements. Below are Missouri’s minimum car insurance requirements:
The only type of car insurance Missouri requires is liability coverage. This pays for any damages or injuries you cause to other parties in a car accident. To drive in Missouri, you need at least:
- $25,000 of bodily injury liability (BIL) for one person
- $50,000 of BIL for two or more persons
- $25,000 of property damage liability (PDL) for any one accident
You may also see minimum liability requirements in shorthand form: “25/50/25.” Each number represents the amount, in thousands, you must carry on your policy.
Missouri’s minimum requirements are all you need to drive. However, they may not be enough to cover the expenses in the event of an accident. You should consider buying as much coverage as you can to avoid paying out of pocket. The auto insurance industry typically recommends bodily injury limits of $100,000 per person and $300,000 per accident.
Drivers must carry proof of financial responsibility (FR) in their car at all times. For most people, this will be an insurance identification card. Below is a list of all three types of valid proof of financial responsibility in Missouri:
Instead of buying a policy, Missouri allows you to opt for self-insurance. This is where you prove, in some other way, that you’ll pay for damages you cause in a car accident. There are three ways to achieve this:
To use a surety bond as valid proof of FR, you need to complete Form 2308, Financial Responsibility Surety Bond. The bond you submit needs to show an amount of at least $75,000 to be valid. You must also complete a Power of Attorney form to go along with the bond.
Real Estate Bond
You may also use a real estate bond as proof of FR in Missouri. To do this, you’ll need two or more property owners in the state (including yourself). You and the other property owner must complete Form 1585, Justification of Sureties. The properties should, in total, be worth at least $150,000 with no liens or encumbrances against them.
The property owners will also need to complete a Proof of Financial Responsibility Bond form (Form 1721). A county or city Circuit Court Judge must then approve each form.
Deposit of Cash or Negotiable Securities
Depositing cash, stocks, bonds, or other negotiable securities is also an option for self-insurance. No matter the type, it should amount to at least $75,000 to be valid. You must complete three forms to do so:
- Agreement to Pay Judgments (Form 5317)
- Affidavit for Assignment of Securities (Form 4201)
- Affidavit of no Unsatisfied Judgments (Form 4202)
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
It’s illegal to drive without insurance in Missouri. Doing so will result in various penalties, including fines and license suspensions. Below are the penalties if you’re caught driving without coverage:
- Four points on your driving record
- Order of supervision to ensure you have proper coverage
- Possible license suspension
- License reinstatement fees
Best Car Insurance Companies in Missouri
With so many insurance companies to choose from, it can be hard to know which one is best. To find the best company, it’s important to look at how good a company is overall. The best car insurance companies offer great value for your money. The following are characteristics of great providers:
- Competitive rates
- Excellent customer service
- Lots of discount opportunities
- Customer loyalty benefits
- User-friendly websites
Top Companies by Market Share
One way to find the best insurers is to look at who owns the most market share in your state. These companies are the biggest and most popular. The biggest isn’t always the best for you, but it’s a good place to start. Below are the top ten car insurance companies in Missouri by market share:
|Rank||Company||Direct Premiums Written||Market Share|
Top Companies by J.D. Power Rating
Another way to find the best insurer is by paying attention to a company’s J.D. Power rating. J.D. Power ranks car insurance companies in each state or region based on customer satisfaction. These are the companies with the highest J.D. Power rating in the Central region (including Missouri):
|Rank||Company||Customer Satisfaction Score (Out of 1,000)|
Best Companies Based in Missouri
The best car insurance company for you may be based in Missouri. Local insurers tend to offer special benefits to state residents. It’s also a good way to support local businesses. Here are carriers based in Missouri:
- Missouri Farm Bureau
- Cameron Mutual
Missouri Insurance Laws
No-Fault or Fault?
A no-fault insurance state requires drivers to carry personal injury protection (PIP) or medical payments coverage (MedPay). These coverages help pay the medical bills for you and your passengers following an accident, no matter who caused it. Missouri, on the other hand, is a fault or tort state. Here, the at-fault driver is responsible for all of the expenses in an accident.
Your car will become a total loss if its damages cost more than its actual cash value (ACV). In many states, the damages must reach a certain percentage of the car’s value for it to be totaled. In Missouri, insurers will declare your car a total loss if the damages reach 80% of the fair market value.
Salvage and Rebuilt Titles
Once your car is declared a total loss, it may receive a salvage title if its year is newer than 2011. A Vehicle with a salvage title is illegal to drive. For this reason, insurers won’t cover it. The only way to legally drive a salvaged car again is to restore it to a safe condition and obtain a rebuilt title.
How to Get a Rebuilt Title in Missouri
To get a rebuilt title in Missouri, your car will already need a salvage title. Then, you’ll need to mail the following to the Missouri Motor Vehicle Bureau:
- A salvage title certificate in your name
- Bill of sale for the car
- Completed Application for Missouri Title and License (DOR-108)
- Vehicle examination certificate (DOR-551)
- Notarized bills of sale in your name for all major parts
- Copy of the front and back of the certificate of title for any cars you received major parts for
- Any invoices, bills of sale, receipts for parts you used to rebuild the car
- State and local taxes on the purchase price of the vehicle and parts used for restoration
- $8.50 title fee and $6.00 processing fee
Insuring Cars with Rebuilt Titles
You can insure cars with rebuilt titles in Missouri. Most insurance companies should offer you a policy. However, you may only be able to get liability coverage. Few, if any, providers offer full coverage on rebuilt titles. This is because insurers understand that rebuilt cars were once totaled, so they may carry a higher safety risk. Rates are also likely to be high for this reason.
Full Windshield Replacement
Some states require insurers to replace your windshield without a deductible if it has damage. Missouri doesn’t have any law about this. This means that you’ll need to pay a deductible for any comprehensive claims involving your windshield.
Another option is to add full glass insurance to your policy. For an extra cost added to your premiums, your insurer will replace your windshield deductible-free. Full glass coverage may be a smart choice in Missouri, where tornadoes and other severe weather are the norms.
If you get into a car accident, chances are you’re going to end up filing a claim. You must file a claim as soon as possible so that you can get repairs or medical help promptly. Missouri’s Department of Insurance recommends that drivers file a claim with their insurer unless they’re not at fault. If this is the case, you should file a claim with the other driver’s insurer.
What to Expect After Filing a Claim
After you file, you should expect your insurer to handle the claim fairly and promptly. In Missouri, the Unfair Claims Settlement Practices Act (UCSPA) requires insurers to investigate your claim within 30 days. The insurer must then send any claim forms within ten days. Then, the insurer must accept or deny the claim within 15 days. After the investigation concludes, you should receive a settlement.
An SR-22 form is a document certifying that you have the minimum amount of insurance in your state. In Missouri, you may have to file an SR-22 form if you experience a license suspension. When you lose your license, you’ll need to keep an SR-22 form on file for up to two years.
Insurers will often use your credit score as a way to determine your auto insurance rates. However, many states, such as California, don’t allow this practice. Missouri doesn’t have any law preventing insurers from using your credit history. If your credit rating is poor, you could see high auto rates.
In Missouri, an insurer cannot cancel your policy if it’s been in effect for 60 days or more unless it has at least one of the following reasons:
- Non-payment of premium
- License suspension
Insurers must also send you a written explanation for why it has decided to cancel, non-renew, or deny your policy. Also note that state law prevents insurance companies and agents from asking you about any past policy cancellations, non-renewals, or denials.
Depending on your insurer and situation, policy reinstatement is possible. Contact your provider ASAP if you receive a cancellation notice. Any delay can lead to a lapse in coverage which makes any reinstatement process considerably more difficult.
Drunk Driving Laws
In Missouri, you’ll receive a DUI if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is .08 or higher (.04 for minors). Two different laws dictate DUI convictions:
- Criminal law. This is regarding the ticket you’re issued. You’ll receive points on your record and may lose your driving privilege.
- Administrative law. If your BAC is over the legal limit or you refuse to test, you’ll receive an automatic license suspension. This will happen even if the court throws out the ticket.
Penalties for a DUI are typically severe. After each conviction, penalties will get worse. Here’s what’ll happen if you get a DUI in Missouri:
If this is your first DUI offense, you’ll receive a 90-day license suspension. However, you may be eligible for Restricted Driving Privilege (RDP). On RDP, you’ll need to file an SR-22 form and drive with an ignition interlock device (IID). Missouri gives you the option of either:
- 90-day RDP with IID
- 30-day license suspension, then a 60-day RDP
After a second DUI offense, you’ll receive a one-year license suspension. If this is your second offense in five years, you may lose your license for up to five years. After three or more convictions, you will lose your license for ten years.
Getting a DUI won’t just result in legal trouble. You can also expect your car rates to go way up. Insurers may even label you as a high-risk driver, making it hard for you to get coverage.
Driver’s License Points System
Missouri uses a driver’s license points system to keep track of violations on your record. After you have eight or more points on your record in 18 months, you’ll lose your license for anywhere from 30 to 90 days. This will depend on how many suspensions you’ve already had. Every year that you drive without new points, your total will go down.
Most Popular Cars
Every state has a different collection of the most popular cars. Here were the most sold cars in 2021:
- Ford F-Series
- Chevrolet Silverado
- Ram 1500/2500/3500
- GMC Sierra
- Honda CR-V
Most Stolen Cars
Insurers pay close attention to which cars thieves target most in each state. If you own a car that makes the most stolen list, your rates could end up being higher. These were the most stolen vehicles in 2021:
- 2006 Ford Pick-Up (Full Size)
- 2005 Chevrolet Pick-Up (Full Size)
- 2001 Dodge Pick-Up (Full Size)
- 2020 Nissan Altima
- 2020 Chevrolet Malibu
- 2014 Ford Fusion
- 2020 Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- 1997 Honda Accord
- 2020 Toyota Camry
- 2008 Chevrolet Impala