Wyoming is the tenth-largest state by land area, with about 33,000 miles of public roadways. It’s also home to Grand Teton and Yellowstone National Parks, which both feature a wide range of diverse wildlife and striking landscapes.
There are roughly 427,000 licensed drivers in Wyoming. The state requires every driver in the state to have car insurance. This article will explain everything you need to know about car insurance in the Equality State. This includes an overview of average rates, important laws, and the best companies in Wyoming.
Table of contents
Average Wyoming Auto Insurance Rates
|Coverage||Wyoming Average||US Average|
|Price Per Month||$65.65||$89.20|
Average Full Coverage Rates
The graph below shows the change in average Wyoming auto insurance rates from 2012 to 2019. Premiums here rose from $618 in 2012 to $776 in 2019. This was an increase of $158, or 25%. Wyoming residents enjoy some of the lowest full coverage car insurance rates in the US. While prices have gone up recently due to inflation and other factors, they’re still lower than in other states.
Average Liability Coverage Rates
Below is another graph depicting the change in Wyoming’s average liability car insurance rates from 2012 to 2019. Liability coverage prices are what keep overall premiums in Wyoming so low. A big reason is that much of the state is rural. Most people drive on county highways and small-town roads. Rates for rural areas are always much lower, and this state is almost all rural.
Average Collision Coverage Rates
The following chart shows the change in Wyoming’s average collision insurance rates from 2012 to 2019. These rates are close to the national average. But they’re still lower. Again, this is in large part due to the rural nature of the state. Urban driving presents more opportunities for minor accidents. On the other hand, accidents on rural roads can be at high speeds. This results in more vehicle damage and more expensive repairs.
Average Comprehensive Coverage Rates
The next graph shows the change in Wyoming’s average comprehensive coverage rates from 2012 to 2019.
This comprehensive coverage table shows something interesting. Though Wyoming has cheap car insurance overall, comprehensive rates are far above the national average. There are several explanations as to why this coverage costs more.
First, Wyoming experiences severe weather conditions that can seriously damage a vehicle. Hailstorms occur often. Wyoming is in what’s called “hail alley” because of the high frequency of severe hailstorms. Hailstones can be as big as golf balls. Repair costs are so costly they can exceed your car’s value. And comprehensive would step in to help pay for your repairs. Something to think about if you drive a shiny new car there!
Second, the Cowboy State is very rural. Most state residents drive on two-lane highways and roads, often through areas with large animal populations. Hitting an animal is one of the most common forms of accidents. Over 6,000 vehicles hit animals on state roadways each year. 80 to 85% of these collisions are with mule deer. Hitting any animal can cause severe damage to your car. But deer can cause tremendous damage.
Wyoming Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
Like almost every state, Wyoming requires car insurance. You must meet the minimum auto coverage requirements before you can drive. Here are the basic requirements:
Before you can register a vehicle in Wyoming, you must keep minimum liability coverage limits of at least:
- $25,000 of bodily injury liability (BIL) for the injury or death of one person in a car accident caused by the driver of the insured vehicle
- $50,000 of bodily injury liability (BIL) for the injury or death of more than one person in a car accident caused by the driver of the insured vehicle
- $20,000 of property damage liability (PDL) for each accident caused by the driver of the insured vehicle
These coverage requirements are often written in shorthand form: “25/50/20.”
You’ll satisfy state law if you get the minimum required coverage. But getting the bare minimum isn’t a great idea for most people. A nasty collision or a hailstorm could cost you lots of money and won’t be covered by your liability coverage. For this reason, get as much protection as possible.
Find the Best Car Insurance in Wyoming
Compare quotes among leading car insurance companies to get better coverage and lower rates.
Uninsured Motorist and Underinsured Motorist Coverage
Underinsured motorist (UIM) and uninsured motorist (UM) coverage may be a good idea. Both protect you if you get into an accident with a driver with insufficient insurance. Even so, they aren’t a requirement to drive in Wyoming. There are no state laws requiring any other coverage for general use.
However, your provider must offer you UM coverage. If you don’t want it, you must decline it in writing. Otherwise, it’ll be in your policy by default. The required limits for uninsured motorist coverage are:
- $25,000 of bodily injury liability (BIL) for the injury or death of one person in a car accident
- $50,000 of bodily injury liability (BIL) for the injury or death of more than one person in a car accident
Valid Proof of Insurance
You must carry an insurance identification card while driving in Wyoming. After an accident, it’s crucial to have your insurance info with you to share with the other parties and/or the authorities. A valid Wyoming insurance ID card should contain:
- Company name
- Name of insured
- Policy effective date and expiration date
- Vehicle make, model, and VIN
Wyoming also allows you to carry digital proof of coverage rather than a physical copy. An electronic version of your insurance ID card is valid if:
- Both you and your insurer agree to the electronic format
- The electronic ID card has all the above-required information
Alternatives to Standard Auto Insurance
Wyoming allows a few alternatives to the state minimum required car insurance. These options involve proving financial responsibility to the state. In other words, you must show that you’re able to cover the costs of an accident out-of-pocket. Keep in mind that these alternative options can be expensive, and you must meet the requirements. It may be better for most people to buy a standard policy.
You can prove financial responsibility in Wyoming with a surety bond, or by depositing cash or securities with the Department of Transportation (WYDOT) of at least $25,000.
You can also get self-insurance, but that’s usually only an option for rich people. To do so, you must own 25 vehicles and deposit a surety bond, cash, or securities that amount to $200,000.
Penalties for Driving Without Insurance
- Up to six months in jail
- A fine between $250 and $750
- Three-year SR-22 requirement
Second or subsequent offense:
- Up to six months in jail
- A fine between $500 and $1000
- Loss of registration and license plates
- Three-year SR-22 requirement
Best Car Insurance Companies in Wyoming
It can be hard to know where to start when you’re switching insurance providers. It’s always good to find the best insurer overall. But what truly qualifies one to be in the upper tier of companies? We believe that the companies you want to work with are those that give you the best value. This includes important features like:
- Competitive rates
- An easy claims process
- Superb customer service
- Discounts and special benefits
- User-friendly and helpful websites and mobile apps
Top Companies by Market Share
These car insurance companies have the biggest market share in Wyoming. It doesn’t necessarily make any one of them the best. It also doesn’t make any the cheapest. But the ones at the top must be doing something right. We do know that State Farm, while expensive, has a vast network of agents and excellent customer satisfaction. GEICO and Progressive are cheap, which can also be satisfying.
The following is a list of the top ten car insurance companies by market share in Wyoming:
|Rank||Company||Direct Premiums Written||Market Share|
|4||Mountain West Farm Bureau||$42,127||10.2%|
Top Companies by J.D. Power Rating
Each year, J.D. Power conducts an insurance customer service survey. They break the results into four states and seven regions. Wyoming was in the survey’s Northwest region, which includes states such as Washington, Oregon, and Montana.
We left fourth-place PEMCO out of the table because they don’t do business in Wyoming. USAA is also not on the list because it didn’t meet J.D. Power’s study criteria. Below were the top car insurance companies in the Northwest in 2022 by J.D. Power rating:
|Rank||Company||Customer Satisfaction Score (Out of 1,000)|
Wyoming Auto Insurance Laws
Is Wyoming No-Fault or Fault?
Wyoming isn’t a no-fault state. Rather, it’s a fault state when it comes to auto insurance. This means that liability is based on the traditional tort system. So, if you cause an accident, it’s your fault. And you’re responsible for paying damages (with the help of your provider).
It can be very inconvenient if you total your car soon after buying it. That’s because your car loses so much value when you drive it off the lot. But you still owe the full cost of the loan. You could be out thousands of dollars. We recommend gap coverage until you’re no longer underwater with your auto loan.
Salvage and Rebuilt Titles
Your car will receive a salvage title brand when your insurer declares it a total loss. You can’t drive or register a salvage vehicle in the State of Wyoming. It’ll also be hard to get coverage for one. Due to their inability to drive, insurance companies don’t insure vehicles with salvage titles.
You have a few options if you own a salvage car. You can:
- Keep it and use it for parts
- Repair it and get it a rebuilt title.
- Sell it to an auto shop or someone who’ll use it for parts or repair it
In Wyoming, you can get a rebuilt title if you repair a vehicle and can show that it’s safe to drive on public roads. Your car will only be street-legal again once law enforcement thoroughly inspects it. Once a vehicle passes inspection, you can register and drive it.
State of Wyoming Rebuilt Title Process
This is how to get a rebuilt title in Wyoming:
- Completely repair your vehicle so it’s road-worthy. Be sure to keep all receipts or bills of sale for parts you used
- Apply for a salvage title in person at your county clerk’s office
- Fill out an application for a rebuilt salvage vehicle decal (Form MV-600). WYDOT requires the following:
- The applicant’s name matches the owner’s name on the salvage vehicle title
- You must fill out the name and address of the person or business that repaired your vehicle, even if it was you
- You must write down what the damages were to the car before it got fixed
- Send the below to “WYDOT Motor Vehicle Services,” 5300 Bishop Boulevard, Cheyenne, WY 82009:
- A copy of your salvage vehicle title
- A photo of your car after it’s been repaired
- Your filled out application for a rebuilt salvage vehicle decal
When you get your decal, law enforcement will need to verify your car’s VIN and safety in a thorough inspection. If all is well, they’ll sign a Certification of Correct VIN Number form. Then, you’ll be able to return to your local county clerk’s office and apply for a title (Form MV-300A). Keep in mind that you’ll have to pay some title and registration fees.
Insuring Cars with Rebuilt Titles
Once a salvage vehicle is sufficiently repaired and passes a state inspection, it’ll need rebuilt title insurance before hitting the road. You’ll probably find a company willing to cover you, but most insurers will only offer you a liability-only policy. Full coverage will probably be off the table. This is because your car was once a total loss and, therefore, carries a lot of potential risks.
Your rebuilt salvage car’s increased risk factor can also lead to a more expensive premium. Because of this, it may be a good idea to compare quotes to ensure you’re getting the best deal. Some companies may offer better rates than others for rebuilt title cars.
Full Windshield Replacement
According to Wyoming state law, you can drive your car with a cracked windshield if it doesn’t impair your vision. There are no other laws governing windshield replacement. Some states require insurance companies to waive your deductible for windshield replacement. However, this isn’t the case in Wyoming.
Your best bet for windshield replacement is comprehensive coverage. Even then, you’ll have to pay your deductible. But keep in mind that your deductible may be more than the actual cost to replace your windshield. So, even a $500 deductible may be a wash for paying to replace your windshield.
If you’re worried about an expensive windshield replacement, consider adding full windshield replacement coverage to your policy. Remember, Wyoming is in “hail alley” and windshields fare poorly against larger hailstones.
Chances are, you’ll need to file a claim if you’ve just gotten into a car accident. It’s important to file as soon as possible to ensure you get the most coverage possible. If you wait too long, you may forget key information and could risk not getting help from your insurer.
Luckily, filing a claim with your auto insurance provider is usually an easy process. Most companies allow you to file online or on their mobile app, as well as over the phone.
What to Expect After Filing a Claim in Wyoming
After filing a claim in Wyoming, you can expect an adjuster to assess the damages to your car. After that, your insurer will decide whether to accept or deny your claim. If accepted, your company should pay you for your claim promptly. If they deny your claim, they should tell you why in writing.
In many states, carriers use your credit or FICO score as a car insurance rate factor. They do this because it can display your financial habits and, consequently, could show how reliable you are. However, there are a handful of states that don’t allow companies to use your credit past when picking rates.
Wyoming has no laws banning providers from using your credit history. This means your insurer can use your credit rating to help figure out how much you should pay for your policy. You’ll pay more if you have bad credit. And vice versa.
Wyoming Car Insurance Policy Cancellation and Non-Renewal
Wyoming car insurance companies have 45 days to inform you of policy non-renewal in writing. Your insurer must tell you why within this notification.
Your insurer could cancel your policy mid-term for any one of these reasons:
- Failure to pay rates
- Lying about something that would have resulted in a denial of the policy
- A major change to the risk assumed (DUI, accidents, tickets)
- Substantial breaches of contractual duties, conditions, or warranties
Insurance carriers canceling policies before the end of a term must refund any remaining unearned premium.
Instead of outright canceling your policy or not renewing it, your insurer can also exclude a driver from coverage. For that to happen, this person would need to have a driving record or claim history so bad that your insurer would otherwise cancel the policy. Providers call this renewal with exclusions.
If you didn’t pay your rates on time, reinstatement is still possible. Be sure to call your provider ASAP in this case. If you pay your rates within your insurer’s grace period, you’ll avoid a lapse in coverage, which would skyrocket your rates.
Wyoming Drunk Driving Laws
You’ll face serious legal trouble in Wyoming if you’re caught driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol. Beyond that, you risk putting yourself and others around you in danger. You can get a DUI in Wyoming if:
- You get behind the wheel with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 or more
- Based on suspicion of intoxication, a police officer arrests you and your BAC is 0.08 two hours later
- The police can prove that you were too impaired to drive, even if your BAC wasn’t 0.08 or higher
When you get pulled over on suspicion of a DUI in Wyoming, you can expect the police to have you do some field sobriety tests (walking in a straight line, the walk-and-turn test, one-leg stand test, etc.) and, of course, a breath test.
If convicted of a DUI, you’ll experience steep legal penalties. You can also expect to pay a lot of money in legal fees, fines, and more. You’ll also risk losing your provider. This is because most insurers will mark you as a high-risk driver. If this happens, you may have to find a non-standard company that insures people with DUIs. Another option is to enroll in the state-assigned risk pool.
Wyoming DUI Penalties
These are the penalties for getting a DUI conviction in Wyoming:
- Up to a $750 fine
- Up to six months in jail
- Required to install an ignition interlock device (IID) for six months (if BAC was 0.15 or higher)
- License suspension for 90 days
- Fine of at least $200 and up to $750
- At least seven days and up to six months in jail
- Required to install an IID for one year
- License suspension for one year
- Fine of at least $750 and up to $3,000
- At least 30 days and up to six months in jail
- Required to install an IID for two years
- License suspension for three years
A DUI conviction in Wyoming means a three-year SR-22 form requirement from a car insurance company willing to cover you. This form proves to the state that you have a valid policy. Since this is high-risk coverage, the policy will be expensive. Your insurer will also be in contact with state authorities about any changes, renewals, or cancellations.
You’ll also need to have a copy of your insurance card. You can use an electronic version of your proof of coverage if it meets state requirements.
Wyoming Driver’s License Points System
Wyoming doesn’t use a formal driver’s license points system. But the state does keep track of tickets, accidents, and other moving violations. Some incidents are so severe, you lose your license after a single violation. Minor incidents will also go on your record. Enough minor incidents in a brief period will have consequences. These could be in the form of driving school or higher rates. But four violations within a year will also cost you your driving privileges.
Your driving record is one of the most important factors that insurers look at to decide on your premiums. One or two speeding tickets typically won’t move the needle. However, you can expect to see higher auto insurance prices if you have a record filled with violations.
Most Popular Cars
The cars that are most popular with consumers vary based on each state. Popular cars are the most sought-after and, potentially, the most stolen. This can end up raising your rates if you own a highly stolen car. Below are Wyoming’s most popular and best-selling cars in 2021:
- Ram 1500/2500/3500
- Ford F-Series
- Chevrolet Silverado
- GMC Sierra
- Toyota Tacoma
Most Stolen Cars
Each year, the National Insurance Crime Bureau (NICB) publishes a report listing the nation’s most stolen vehicles. Having your car stolen may not directly raise your rates. But companies charge more to insure cars thieves prefer. The table below lists Wyoming’s most stolen vehicles for 2021. Included are rank, vehicle make and model, and model years:
- 2004 Ford Pick-Up (Full Size)
- 2007 Chevrolet Pick-Up (Full Size)
- 2003/1998 Dodge Pick-Up (Full Size)
- 2003 GMC Pick-Up (Full Size)
- 2005 Toyota Camry
- 2007 Honda Civic
- 2005 Jeep Cherokee/Grand Cherokee
- 2017/2012/2009 Ford Escape
- 2007/2005 GMC Yukon
- 2002/1999 Chevrolet Suburban
- 2012/2007 Ford Focus
- 2003/2002 Ford Explorer
- 2019/2013 Ram Pick-Up (Full Size)
- 2020/2016 Toyota Corolla
- 2020/2007 Ford Fusion
- 2005 Dodge Durango
- 2005 Chevrolet Malibu