Florida Car Insurance Guide
Discover auto insurance requirements, the best companies, and how to get the lowest rates in Florida.
Florida, known for its sunshine and beautiful beaches, is the third-biggest state in the country by population. There are 13,898,347 motorists in the state. That’s a lot of drivers! Many of them live in large population centers like Jacksonville and Miami. This also means your car insurance rates could see a rise. This state is also a hub for natural disasters, such as hurricanes, which can impact your comprehensive coverage rates.
Like any other state, Florida has many unique laws and policies. This page will break down how car insurance works in Florida. You’ll learn about how much, on average, you can expect to pay for a policy in the state. We’ll also thoroughly define each law and policy every driver should know.
Table of contents
Florida Average Auto Insurance Rates
When shopping for a new policy, it’s a good idea to look at how your state’s average insurance rates rank against the rest of the country. It can help you find out how much you can expect to pay. Note: your state’s average rates don’t mean you’ll pay that much. Even so, the location of your home is a rate factor. How much you end up paying depends on many other factors, too, such as:
- Driving record
- Credit score
- The car you drive
- Your zip code
Florida’s average auto insurance rates appear to be significantly higher than the rest of the country. The table below shows that three out of the four major coverages tend to cost more here than the national average.
|Coverage||Florida Average||US Average|
|Price Per Month||$117.85||$89.20|
Average Full Coverage Rates
The graph below shows the change in average Florida full coverage rates from 2012 to 2019. You can see that this state’s average prices are significantly higher than the US average. Car insurance premiums here also rose from $1,127 in 2012 to $1,414 in 2019. This was an increase of $287, or 25%.
Average Liability Coverage Rates
In this next graph, you can see that Florida’s average yearly liability coverage rates have been increasing from 2012 to 2019. Liability rates here climbed from about $820 in 2012 to around $1,000 in 2019. It’s also clear that each year, this state’s average liability rates are much higher than the US average. This may be because of the large number of crashes each year. Per the Florida DMV, there were 401,867 crashes in 2019.
Average Collision Coverage Rates
Below, you can see a graph displaying how Florida’s average collision car insurance rates stack up against the US average. Fortunately, average rates here are cheaper than the rest of the country. Despite this, collision coverage rates have been steadily increasing in price since 2012. They went from about $240 per year in 2012 to around $310 per year in 2019.
Average Comprehensive Coverage Rates
The graph below shows Florida’s average comprehensive coverage rates versus the national average. Again, rates here are lower than the national average. This is surprising, considering the perpetual struggle with hurricanes and floods. While the state’s comprehensive prices are cheaper than the national average, they’ve been steadily increasing each year. Comprehensive rates went from around $110 to about $150 from 2012 to 2019.
Florida Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements
Every state, outside of New Hampshire and Virginia, requires car insurance to drive. But not all states require you to have the same amount. State requirements tell you which coverages to buy and how much of each one, at minimum, you need to carry.
Property Damage Liability (PDL) and Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
PDL and PIP are requirements to drive and register a car in Florida. PDL covers damages and injuries to the other driver if you were to cause an accident. Meanwhile, PIP would cover any injuries that you sustain in an accident.
Florida requires PIP limits of at least:
- $10,000 of PDL
- $10,000 of PIP
You’ll need even more coverage if you want to register your car as a taxi. Vehicles that you register as a taxi must carry additional coverage of:
- $125,000 per person bodily injury liability (BIL)
- $250,000 per occurrence bodily injury liability (BIL)
- $50,000 property damage liability (PDL)
Find the Best Car Insurance in Florida
Compare quotes among leading car insurance companies to get better coverage and lower rates.
Uninsured and Underinsured Motorist Coverage (UM and UIM)
Uninsured motorist (UM) and underinsured motorist (UIM) protect you if someone who doesn’t have or has too little car insurance causes an accident. Florida doesn’t require drivers to carry UM and UIM coverage. But you may still want to add it. In 2019, about 20.4% of Sunshine State drivers were not covered by a policy, per the III. If you don’t have coverage and the other party has no coverage, you could end up paying for costs out of pocket.
Florida drivers may self-insure vehicles. To do so, you’ll need at least a $40,000 net worth. You’ll also need to maintain the minimum net worth for as long as you are self-insuring your car. If you meet these requirements, you may obtain a self-insurance certificate from the DMV.
Keep in mind that, as of July 2013, Florida drivers can’t use a surety bond to get a self-insurance certificate. You’ll need to fulfill the $40,000 net worth requirement to obtain one.
Proof of Insurance
You must always have an auto insurance ID card and registration in your car. The state allows an image of your ID card on a phone or other electronic device. You’ll need to show valid proof of coverage when you register a vehicle in Florida. It should show that you carry the minimum amount of PDL and PIP on your policy at the time of registration.
Penalty for Failing to Maintain Insurance
You must maintain coverage throughout your vehicle’s registration period. If you’re caught driving without insurance in Florida, you could lose your driving privileges and have your license plate suspended for up to three years. Should this happen, you’ll also need to pay a $500 reinstatement fee before you can drive again.
If you decide not to insure a car for any reason, make sure you turn in your plates before canceling your insurance policy. This will help you avoid suspension and reinstatement fees.
Best Car Insurance Companies in Florida
When you’re shopping for a new policy, you’ll want to find the best provider. The best insurance companies offer great value and lots of benefits (such as discounts and loyalty programs) that you can take advantage of. It’s always a smart choice to do some research before you choose an auto insurer. This includes comparing rates and the overall quality of each company.
Top Companies by Market Share
One of the ways that you can find the top insurance companies is by looking at who has the most market share. This can help you find the biggest and most popular companies in Florida. However, the biggest company isn’t always the best for your needs. Your next insurer could be a big company, but it could also be a smaller hidden gem.
Below is a table that shows the top companies in Florida by their amount of written premiums and percentage of market share:
|Rank||Company||Direct Premiums Written||Market Share|
Top Companies by J.D. Power Rating
Customer satisfaction is important to consider when you’re looking for the best car insurance in Florida. You want a provider that puts customer service first. J.D. Power Ratings are a good way to measure how satisfied customers are with insurers. J.D. Power ranks each carrier with a customer satisfaction score out of 1,000.
Here’s J.D. Power’s 2021 list of the top auto insurance companies in Florida (USAA isn’t on the list because it doesn’t fit J.D. Power’s criteria):
|Rank||Company||Customer Satisfaction Score (Out of 1,000)|
|9||Automobile Club Group||817|
Florida Auto Insurance Laws
No-Fault or Fault
Florida is a no-fault insurance state. This means that personal injury protection (PIP) must be part of your policy. PIP covers your injuries, regardless of fault in an accident. Unlike most states, Florida doesn’t want you to buy bodily injury liability coverage. PIP covers your injuries instead.
Your insurer will declare your vehicle a total loss if the damages cost more than your it’s worth. Most states require the damages to pass a certain threshold before the car becomes a total loss. This is usually a percentage of the damages. Other states use the total loss formula (TLF) to determine whether a vehicle is totaled. This is where the salvage value and cost of repairs are more than your car’s actual cash value (ACV).
Florida’s total loss threshold is 80%. Your car is a total loss if the damages exceed 80% of the its value. If the damages are below the percentage, you’ll be able to get your vehicle back and repair it.
Salvage and Rebuilt Titles
When your vehicle becomes a total loss, it’ll receive a salvage title from the Florida DMV. Salvage titles are illegal to drive. You also won’t be able to insure it. But people commonly buy salvage cars because:
- They’re a way to get cheap parts
- It’s their dream car and they want to rebuild it
If you want to drive your salvage vehicle, you’ll need to rebuild it to a road-worthy condition. The, the DMV will issue your car a rebuilt title.
To get a rebuilt title in Florida, you have to:
- Have proof of ownership
- Verify your identity
- Display proof of insurance (PDL and PIP)
- Apply for a title by completing HSMV form 82040
- Complete the Statement of Builder form i.e., HSMV form 84490
- Pay the application and inspection costs
Insuring Cars with Rebuilt Titles
Once your vehicle is repaired and inspected, rebrand it with a rebuilt title. There’s one final step before you can drive it, though. You’re going to need to find a Florida insurance provider that covers rebuilt salvage cars. Luckily, most insurers should offer you a policy. But keep in mind that your carrier may only provide liability coverage for rebuilt titles. Full coverage is probably not an option.
Auto insurance for cars with rebuilt titles is typically more expensive than for other vehicles. Insurers know that rebuilds were once totaled and, thus, carry plenty of safety risks. Because of this, your rates are sure to be higher.
Just because rates are higher for rebuilt titles, doesn’t mean every provider charges the same for a policy. Each one has its own internal rate factors. So, it’s a smart practice to shop around and compare quotes from several companies. This ensures that you pay no more than you should.
SR-22 and FR-44 Forms
An SR-22 form certifies that you have enough financial responsibility to cover damages in an accident. In Florida, an SR-22 would verify that you have the minimum amount of liability insurance and personal injury protection on your policy.
Florida requires drivers who get into an accident without coverage to file an SR-22 form. You would file this form with your insurer, and then certify it with the DMV. It would verify that you have the state minimum amount of PDL and PIP.
The state also requires drivers who have severe driving offenses, such as a DUI, to file an FR-44 form. An FR-44 form is like an SR-22, except that it has higher liability requirements. Florida’s FR-44 form requires you to carry the following liability coverage:
- $50,000 per person for bodily injury liability (BIL)
- $300,000 per accident for BIL
- $60,000 for PDL
Keep in mind that Florida normally only requires PDL and PIP. But an FR-44 form requires you to add BIL and additional PDL to your policy.
Full Windshield Replacement
As of 2021, Floridians can fully repair or replace their windshield without paying a deductible. This means you get a free window! But you can only take advantage of this benefit if you have comprehensive or collision coverage. If you don’t, you’ll need to pay for any repairs out of pocket.
Also, keep in mind that you can’t repair or replace your windshield with your insurance unless a force outside your control causes the damage. Insurers won’t cover any damages that you cause to your windshield, even if it was accidental.
If you end up in an accident, chances are you’ll need to file a claim. At the very least, you’ll need to notify your insurer that it happened.
Florida is a no-fault insurance state. If you’re in an accident and get injured, your personal injury protection will cover any of your medical bills. This includes your passengers. When there’s property damage, the other driver’s liability would cover it if they’re at fault. If you’re at fault, you cover damages.
Each state has unique rules for filing claims. This includes time limits for both you and your insurance carrier. Florida insurers have 20 days to settle an auto claim. Meanwhile, you have four years to file a claim or lawsuit against the other party. But keep in mind that PIP laws require you to receive medical attention within 14 days of the accident.
Your personal credit information is a factor that many insurers take into consideration when determining your rates. However, some states prohibit this practice. Florida, however, allows insurance companies to use your credit score to calculate your premium. Providers may also use your credit rating as a reason to deny or cancel your policy.
Many insurance companies use something called price optimization to determine rates. This is when they decide the highest amount of money you’d tolerate paying before you go out and find a new company. They do this by using advanced metric tools to analyze consumer data.
Some states don’t allow providers to use price optimization methods when they pick your rates. Florida prohibits price optimization to determine your premium costs.
In Florida, car insurance companies may cancel or non-renew your policy if they find that “cancellation of some or all of the insurer’s policies is necessary to protect the best interests of the public or policyholders.” Your provider must give you at least 45 days’ notice before they cancel your policy.
Insurers typically cancel policies if you:
- Are a high-risk driver
- Don’t pay your premium
- Commit fraud or misrepresent information
- Have a poor credit score
If you lose your policy because you didn’t pay your premium, you could still reinstate it. It’s best to call your insurer and pay the bill ASAP. Otherwise, your coverage will lapse and it could be difficult or even impossible to renew your policy.
Florida Drunk Driving Laws
Drinking and driving are one of the worst things you can do. It puts other people in danger and can get you in serious financial and legal trouble. If you get a DUI, your insurance rates will skyrocket, and carriers will label you as a high-risk driver.
Each state handles DUI offenses in its own way. In Florida, the consequences become more severe after each offense. Below is a breakdown of what happens to you after each offense:
- $500 to $1,000 in fines
- $1,000 to $2,000 in fines if blood alcohol content (BAL) was 0.15 or higher or if there is a minor in the car.
- Up to six months of jail time. May be served in a residential alcoholism or rehab center.
- Ten-day impoundment of your vehicle
- License suspension of 180 days to one year
- $1,000 to $2,000 in fines
- $2,000 to $4,000 in fines if BAL was 0.15 or higher or if there is a minor in the car.
- Up to nine months of jail time. May be served in a residential alcoholism or rehab center.
- Mandatory jail time of ten days if the conviction was within five years of another DUI offense.
- 30-day impoundment of your vehicle if the offense was within five years of another DUI violation.
- A minimum five-year suspension of your driver’s license if the offense was within five years of another DUI
- $2,000 to $5,000 in fines
- At least $4,000 in fines if BAL was 0.15 or higher or if there is a minor in the car.
- Up to one year of jail time. May be served in a residential alcoholism or rehab center.
- Mandatory jail time of 30 days if you have a DUI within ten years of another.
- 90-day impoundment of your vehicle if the DUI was within five years of another.
- A minimum ten-year suspension of your license if the DUI was within five years of another.
Driver’s License Points System
Florida uses driver’s license points to keep track of moving violations. As points rack up, so does the severity of the consequences for your offenses. Various types of tickets are worth different amounts of points.
Florida will suspend your license if you have too many points on your record. Below are the different amounts of points that will result in a suspension:
- 12 points in 12 months – 30-day suspension
- 18 points in 18 months – three-month suspension
- 24 points in 24 months – one-year suspension
Most Popular Cars
The cars that are most popular with consumers vary based on each state. Popular vehicles are the most sought-after and, potentially, the most stolen. This can end up raising your rates if you own a highly stolen car.
Below are Florida’s most popular and best-selling cars in 2021:
- Toyota Corolla
- Toyota RAV4
- Ford F-Series
- Toyota Camry
- Ram 1500/2500/3500
Most Stolen Cars
Insurance companies keep a close eye on which car models are the most stolen in each state. Owning a vehicle that’s frequently a target of thieves could cause a bump in your rates.
These were Florida’s most stolen vehicles in 2021:
- 2006 Ford Pick-Up (Full Size)
- 2020 Nissan Altima
- 2018 Honda Accord
- 2020 Toyota Camry
- 2020 Toyota Corolla
- 2020 Chevrolet Pick-Up (Full Size)
- 2019 Honda Civic
- 2020 Chevrolet Malibu
- 2011 Hyundai Sonata
- 2019 Ram Pick-Up (Full Size)